

Cheltenham Borough Council Council Minutes

Meeting date: 20 May 2024

Meeting time: 3.00 pm - 3.15 pm

In attendance:

Councillors:

Paul Baker (Vice-Chair), Frank Allen, Glenn Andrews, Victoria Atherstone, Adrian Bamford, Dilys Barrell, Graham Beale, Angie Boyes, Jackie Chelin, Barbara Clark, Julia Chandler, Flo Clucas, Ashleigh Davies, Chris Day, Iain Dobie, Jan Foster, Juan Carlos Garcia Clamp, Steve Harvey, Rowena Hay, Sandra Holliday, Martin Horwood, Peter Jeffries, Tabi Joy, Alisha Lewis, Cathal Lynch, Andy Mutton, Ben Orme, Helen Pemberton, Richard Pineger, Julie Sankey, Stan Smith, Izaac Tailford, Julian Tooke, Simon Wheeler, Suzanne Williams and Dr David Willingham

Also in attendance:

Claire Hughes (Director of Governance and Customer Services and Monitoring Officer) and Gareth Edmundson (Chief Executive)

1 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Barnes, Collins, Oliver and Steinhardt.

2 Declarations of interest

There were none.

3 Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

The Chief Executive said that Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who it considers have rendered eminent services to the Authority in their past roles as councillors. In Cheltenham, the longstanding criteria applied when conferring the title of Honorary Alderman is that the person has at least 16 years' service or is a past Mayor and Chair of the Council.

On this occasion, former Councillors Babbage, Britter, Fisher, Flynn and Seacome fall within the criteria.

The Leader put on record her thanks to all the councillors, and proposed that they be appointed Honorary Aldermen. Councillor Joy seconded the proposal, thanking the councillors for their long service.

RESOLVED (unanimously) that

1. the title of Honorary Alderman is conferred on former Councillors Matt Babbage, Nigel Britter, Bernard Fisher, Wendy Flynn and Diggory Seacome.

4 Appointment of Honorary Freemen of the Borough

The Chief Executive said the title of Honorary Freeman of the Borough was conferred on persons considered to have rendered eminent and distinguished service to the borough of Cheltenham, and are nominated by group leaders. On this occasion, there are three nominees:

- Lesley Bonney
- Chun Kong
- Michael Ratcliffe MBE

The Leader formally proposed the nominees, and Councillor Joy seconded.

RESOLVED (unanimously) that:

- The title of Honorary Freeman is conferred on Lesley Bonney, Chun Kong and Michael Ratcliffe MBE.